Bernard Frize

FRED THIELER AWARD FOR PAINTING 2011

The Fred Thieler Prize for Painting 2011 will be awarded to the artist Bernard Frize (*1949 near Paris), who has dedicated himself to abstract painting since the 1970s. By selecting Frize, the jury decided in favour of an artist who represents one of the most important contemporary positions internationally.

Abstraction is founded on a reduction to the consistency of paint and its colours. Bernard Frize understands painting as a process that is dependent on the behaviour of the paint during application. In this way, every work emerges according to its own logic and system, making its compositional structure comprehensible.  Coincidence and the technically determined paint application process become the subject of the works, which are conceived as work groups and express a tremendous spectrum of variations. The method of handling paint defines the artistic outcome; the structure of the process determines the diversity of possibilities. It is essential to any understanding of these paintings that their genesis is visualised within them. The artist wishes to convey the “basics behind the experience of painting”, to show the relation between his thoughts and actions.

Patron of the exhibition is the Ambassador of the Republic of France.

Endowed with 10,000 euros, the art prize is presented in the Berlinische Galerie every two years. The artists receiving the award are always based in Germany, but their creative work can be said to have an international impact.

Members of the jury:

Prof. Frank Badur, member of the Fine Art Section of the Academy of the Arts, Berlin
Udo Kittelmann, director of the Nationalgalerie, Berlin
Dr. Thomas Köhler, director of the Berlinische Galerie, Berlin
Prof. Karin Sander, artist, Berlin
Trak Wendisch, artist, Berlin

 

Berlinische Galerie

Landesmuseum für Moderne
Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
Stiftung Öffentlichen Rechts

Alte Jakobstraße 124–128
10969 Berlin Germany

www.berlinischegalerie.de
bg(at)berlinischegalerie.de

Tel +49 (0)30-789 02-600
Fax +49 (0)30-789 02-700

 
 
 
Copyright © 2011 Berlinische Galerie. All rights reserved.

Bernard Frize

Fred-Thieler-Preis für Malerei 2011

Der Fred-Thieler-Preis für Malerei 2011 wurde dem Künstler Bernard Frize (*1949 bei Paris) zuerkannt, der sich seit den 1970er Jahren der abstrakten Malerei widmet. Die Jury entschied sich mit ihm für einen Künstler, der heute zu den international bedeutendsten zeitgenössischen Positionen zählt.
Die Abstraktion liegt in der Reduktion auf die Konsistenz der Farben begründet. Bernard Frize begreift Malen als einen Prozess, der vom Verhalten der aufgetragenen Farbe abhängig ist. So bleibt jedes Werk einer eigenen Logik und Systematik folgend in seinem kompositionellen Aufbau nachvollziehbar. Sowohl der Zufall als auch der technisch bedingte Farbauftrag werden zum Thema der Arbeiten, die als Werkgruppen konzipiert werden und eine besondere Variationsbreite zum Ausdruck bringen. Die Konzeption des Umgangs mit Farbe bedingt das bildnerische Ergebnis, die Struktur des Prozesses die Vielfalt der Möglichkeiten. Den Entstehungsprozess in den Gemälden sichtbar zu machen, ist von zentraler Bedeutung für deren Verständnis. Dem Künstler geht es um die Vermittlung von „Grundlagen der Erfahrung des Malens“, um die Darstellung der Beziehung zwischen seinem Denken und Handeln.

Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft der französischen Botschaft in Deutschland.

Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Kunstpreis wird alle zwei Jahre in der Berlinischen Galerie verliehen. Mit ihm werden Künstler geehrt, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Deutschland haben und deren Schaffen internationale Strahlkraft hat.

Mitglieder der Jury:

Prof. Frank Badur, Mitglied der Sektion Bildende Kunst der Akademie der Künste, Berlin
Udo Kittelmann, Direktor Nationalgalerie, Berlin
Dr. Thomas Köhler, Direktor Berlinische Galerie, Berlin
Prof. Karin Sander, Künstlerin, Berlin
Trak Wendisch, Künstler, Berlin

 

Berlinische Galerie

Landesmuseum für Moderne
Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
Stiftung Öffentlichen Rechts

Alte Jakobstraße 124–128
10969 Berlin

www.berlinischegalerie.de
bg(at)berlinischegalerie.de

Facebook

Tel +49 (0)30-789 02-600
Fax +49 (0)30-789 02-700

 
 
 
Copyright © 2011 Berlinische Galerie. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.