The "Fred-Thieler-Preis für Malerei" is given to outstanding painters. It was donated by the Berlin painter Fred Thieler (1916–1999).

Since 1992, the award, which is endowed with 10.000 Euros, has been celebrated on the 17th of March, the birthday of Fred Thieler, since 2007 every two years. The grand old man of Art Informel dedicated the award to artists who live and work in Germany and whose works, independent from trends on the market, point toward the direction of the development of contemporary art by following their own "position signs."

The purpose of the foundation is to encourage present-day artists by means of the award. This is associated with an exhibition of the artists’ works and the publication of the laudation.

Year Laureate Laudation
2017 Christine Streuli Tobias Bezzola
2015 Bernhard Martin Karlheinz Lüdeking
2013 Sergej Jensen Michael Callies
2011 Bernard Frize Friedrich Meschede
2009 Pia Fries Stephan Berg
2007 Gerwald Rockenschaub Zdenek Felix
2006 Bernd Koberling Ulrich Krempel
2005 Günter Umberg Angela Schneider
2004 Cornelia Schleime Karin Thomas
2003 Katharina Grosse Armin Zweite
2002 Marwan Joachim Sartorius
2001 Peter Herrmann Evelyn Weiss
2000 A. K. Dolven Ulrike Kremeier
1999 Walter Libuda Andrea Firmenich
1998 K.H. Hödicke Peter-Klaus Schuster
1997 Jan Kotík Jírí Valoch
1996 Reinhard Pods Wolfgang Siano
1995 Andreas Brandt Eugen Gomringer
1994 Lothar Böhme Roland März
1993 Peter Bömmels Hans M. Schmidt
1992 Eugen Schönebeck Jörn Merkert

Berlinische Galerie

Landesmuseum für Moderne
Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur
Stiftung Öffentlichen Rechts

Alte Jakobstraße 124–128
10969 Berlin Germany

Tel +49 (0)30-789 02-600
Fax +49 (0)30-789 02-700

Opening hours

Wednesday–Monday 10 am–6 pm

Closed on 24.12. and 31.12.